Miss Bloodstone’s Top 10 Favourite Pokemon

Hello again, folks! Now, most people at least are familiar with the Pokemon franchise, but if you’re anything like me, you grew up with it. My life as a child consisted of 3 things; Pokemon, Neopets and Slurpees. Throughout the years, the original 150 Pokemon I knew and loved have now grown to over 720! While I do think that’s a bit much, there have been a few of the newer Pokemon that have made it to my personal favourites list.

Now, as you read on, please keep in mind, this is my personal Top 10; I’m not necessarily judging based on how strong they are, or how popular they are; this is simply my own opinion of which Pokemon would make it onto my team for various reasons. If you’ve made your own Pokemon Top 10, link me so I can see your favourites!

I am only setting up two restrictions:

  • No legendaries; so you won’t find the official legendary dogs or birds on this list.
  • Only ONE Eevee-lution. I love my Eevees and all the evolutionary facets, but to ensure I keep my other favourites on here, I’ll stick to the one that stands above the rest in my eyes.

Alright, now that that’s out of the way, let’s get started!

64c21dd925c6313b57a3335f9387f5de-d53r9nm

10. Absol (#359)
Released in Gen III, Absol is a Pokemon I sympathize with a little. Absabsol_zpsd121e90aol is very in-tune with it’s surroundings and can often times predict an impending disaster. In it’s attempt to warn and aid others, it is often blamed for the disaster itself. This misunderstood dark-type Pokemon may not be the most powerful, but it has the potential to have a lot of heart. That and let’s not forget it’s a beautifully-designed Pokemon; especially it’s mega-evolution.
divider_by_danotomorrow9. Cubone (#104)
All aboard the train to Feeledelphia; this ground-type Pokemon from Gen I has possibly one of the most depressing backstories (and if you think about it, one of the darkest) of the Pokemon even to today’s standards. The skull this adorable Pokemon wears is actually the skull of it’s dead mother. As a result of the trauma, it has been nicknamed ‘The104 Lonely Pokemon’ as it closes up and keeps to itself. Particularly on nights where the full moon is visible, this Pokemon cries loudly in mourning as it connects the full moon to the memory of it’s mother. As if that wasn’t bad enough, if you played the Red, Blue and Yellow Game Boy Pokemon games, you’ll find out that Cubone’s mother was atually murdered by Team Rocket! Isn’t this suppose to be a kids show?!

It’s okay, little Cubone; here, have a spot on this list. *cries*

how-i-met-your-mother1
divider_by_danotomorrow8. Flygon (#330)flygon_zps75a6e9f8
I love my dragon Pokemon, and Flygon is one of my favourites! This ground/dragon-type Pokemon was released during Gen III and is one of those slightly unfair Pokemon that can learn pretty much any kind of attack. It manages to look both adorable and intimidating, and it looks a bit like a dragonfly. 🙂 See, Yanma? You could learn a thing or two from this one.
divider_by_danotomorrow
7. Milotic (#350)
This is possibly one of the most beautiful Pokemon in my opinion; and not only thatmilotic_zps39e396fd, it’s deceptively strong. Feebas, being only slightly more useful than Magikarp evolves into this water-type, creature I call “Girly Gyarados.” It is even said that by releasing a wave on energy, this Pokemon can calm emotions and cease anger and conflict around it. Now, that’s a Pokemon that commands respect. This is, in my opinion, one of the best Pokemon to come out of Generation III.
divider_by_danotomorrow6. Gyarados (#130)
One of my best Pokemon-related memories is connected to this badass rightgyarados_zps3efad08b here. I remember pulling up to Mt. Moon while I was played Pokemon Red back in the day. I had no idea what Magikarp was, but some dude was selling it in the Pokemon Centre; so of course, I said “yes please!” To my dismay, I wound up with a fish. That fish eventually learned tackle. I was about to give up on it before it began to evolve into one of the coolest Pokemon ever made (and quite possibly one of the angriest). Needless to say, this water/flying-type Pokemon is a prime example of why you should never underestimate someone just because of the beginning of it’s story. It just may come back to kick your ass.

tumblr_nfjcykezbi1tq4of6o1_500
divider_by_danotomorrow5. Noivernnoivern_zpse875328a (#715)
This flying-dragon-type Pokemon was one of the more pleasant surprises from the Gen VI, this is easily my favourite bat-like Pokemon (I should know; I love my bats). It can naturally learn many of my personal favourite attacks, and it’s stronger than it looks; and it’s very speedy. Aside from that, it’s one of those Pokemon I can’t completely explain why I love it; I just do.
divider_by_danotomorrow4. Vaporeon (#134)
I know what you’re thinking. “Really? That’s your favourite Eeveelution?” Well, this o134ne has a little meaning behind it. Shortly after I started playing the games and watching the show, I began growing unhealthily addicted to the card game. My grandfather took me to the shop one day and bought me by first large pack of Pokemon cards, and the first holographic ‘rare’ card I ever had was Vaporeon. While I no longer play the game and have either lost or given away most of my collection, I still have that same card with me to this day. This water-type Pokemon was released during Gen I.
divider_by_danotomorrow
3. Dragonair (#148)
This dragon-type Pokemon from Gen I has the ability to change the weather, antumblr_mzq9vpw5k51scncwdo1_500d not only that, it’s one of the more beautiful and powerful Pokemon. Capable of pretty much all move types, I always have at last two of these beauties captured and trained up for battle. It seems slightly reminiscent of the Cardcaptors art-style and looks as though it could be a legendary Pokemon in it’s own right.

tumblr_nuhjfafmp51sphazho1_500
divider_by_danotomorrow2. Starmie (#121)
I love this Pokemon. Seriously, this is my favourite psychic/water-type Pokemon of all time. Starmie was released in Gen I, this is one of those overpowered Pokemon that can learn bloody-well anything. Behind the number one Pokemon on thi121s list, Starmie has always been the second Pokemon I always, always have on my team as soon as I’m able. It’s believed to be extraterrestrial, but I suppose anything this amazing must come from somewhere unfathomable. Regardless, I recommend training one of these up and bringing it with you on your next Pokemon journey; it won’t disappoint you.
divider_by_danotomorrow1. Arcanine (#59)
Here it is, folks. My favourite Pokemon of ALL time; no other has even come close. The mighty (and unfortunately under-powered) Arcanine! It’s a fire-type Pokemon from Gen I and it is said to be brave and fiercely loyal; which are 059instant wins in my books. This Pokemon just screams pride, and was even theorized to have been considered a legendary Pokemon. For some reason, it never received that honour, but it will always be a legend in my books. No team of mine will ever be complete without an Arcanine on my side. (I mean just look at this adorable thing!) Don’t let that fool you though; this speedy Pokemon is known for putting others in their place.

tumblr_nahgmf4inf1ttdkobo1_400

64c21dd925c6313b57a3335f9387f5de-d53r9nm

There you have it! You now know all about my favourite Pokemon of all time! What about you? Which Pokemon would you have on your team? Be sure to link me to your own Top 10 List so I can check it out, or comment away below!

For more Top 10 lists, be sure to check back again.

tumblr_nakg2bovht1rr212po1_r1_1280


logo

Leave a Reply

