Top 10 Dumbest Pokemon

I grew up with Pokémon. While the original 150 will always be among my favourites, the team behind the ever-growing list of critters and colossal creatures maintains an impressive sense of imagination, and added challenges to the phrase, “gotta catch ’em all,” make the games difficult to put down; even frustrating at times.

However, I have to admit, some of the Pokémon I’ve seen are rather silly, strange, or just downright odd. This list features a handful of Pokémon that made me scratch my head a little. Note that some of these include the evolutionary lines of the Pokémon named in the entry; because they are on the list for the same reason, they count as one (shh; just go with it).

If anyone is wondering why Magikarp didn’t make the list, it’s simply because it evolves into Gyarados; and Gyarados is awesome.

Without further ado, here is my Top 10 Dumbest Pokémon (so far).

64c21dd925c6313b57a3335f9387f5de-d53r9nm

10. Dedenne (#702)
Dedenne, also known as ‘Raichu-but-not,’ is a small electric/fairy-type Pokémon that was released during Gen VI. When I first saw this little guy, I genuinely thought it was cute; and while my opinion still stands, how is this not in the Pichu-Pikachu-Raichu evolution line? Its resemblance is so uncanny, they could have called it Chibi-Raichu, or Studded-Growth Pikachu. It looks like the result of a trainer stopping a Pikachu’s evolution just a little too late.
Well, I suppose a name that sounds so much like ‘dead end’ just goes to show the team behind the Pokémon concepts is finally admitting to running out of ideas.

divider_by_danotomorrow
9. Timburr/Gurdurr/Conkeldurr (#532/533/534)

When a Pokémon sounds like it was named by the Swedish Chef, you know it’s going to be a strange concept. These fighting-type Pokémon were released during Gen V. Wielding a squared log, steel I-beam, and cylinders of concrete, these are, you guessed it, ‘construction Pokémon.’ Sure, there are weirder things in the Pokémon world, which is why I placed them so high on this list, but I still can’t help but shake my head and wonder, “what were they thinking?”

divider_by_danotomorrow
8. Hawlucha (#701)

I suppose this is…creative? It still looks like this fighting/flying-type Pokémon is just a bad WWE Luchador-based costume to me. Hawlucha was released with Gen VI.

divider_by_danotomorrow

7.Nosepass (#299)
This rock-type Pokémon came out during Gen III, and don’t even get me started on its evolved counterpart, Probopass (or as I like to call it, The Rock In Mario Cosplay). All I can imagine in my head when I see this Pokémon is a conference room of executives brainstorming new Pokémon ideas when this happens:

-CEO: We should make a rock Pokémon. A Pokémon that is literally a rock. It’s simple. Yet elegant.
-Executive: But sir, we already did that with Geodude.
-CEO: Slap a nose on it.
-Executive: A nose, sir?
-CEO: A nose, Tim.

Beware the nose rock, all you Pokémon trainers out there. It means business. I think.

divider_by_danotomorrow

6. Lucicolo (#272)
What’s the first thing that comes to mind when someone asks you to think of a water/grass-type Pokémon? If you thought of a dancing, duck-billed mariachi pineapple in oven-mitts, you should consider a career with Pokémon design. Ludicolo was released during Gen III.

divider_by_danotomorrow

5. Cofagrigus (#563)
This ghost-type Pokémon from Gen V looks way too much like a bad Yu-Gi-Oh creature.  Furthermore, the nature of these things freaks me out. “It has been said that it swallows those who get too close and turns them into mummies.”

So let me get this straight; if someone gets too close, this thing will swallow them, remove their organs, stuff them, and bind them in linen? Isn’t this supposed to be a kids thing?

divider_by_danotomorrow

4. Voltorb/Electrode (#100/101)
Okay, I have nothing but love for the original 150, but this is the only one that really made me scratch my head. I’ll bet any money that they had already dreamt up 148 Pokémon, looked at each other, and said, “nah, 150 looks better on paper. Let’s slap some eyeballs on the logo and give it a name.

divider_by_danotomorrow
3. Pineco (#204)
This bug-type Pokemon was released during Gen II and while it may not be my least favourite from that generation, it is certainly one that took me off guard. A trainer walks into the forest, head-butts a tree and captures…a pinecone. Riveting.

I was considering putting Metapod/Kakuna on here, but at least they evolve into something interesting. I don’t even know what to call Forretress.

divider_by_danotomorrow
2. Vanillite/Vanillish/Vanilluxe (#582/583/584)
This ice-type Pokémon was released during Gen V and…as you can see…it’s basically ice cream. An ice cream Pokémon. I mean, sure it’d be delicious, but that’s about it. Whenever an opponent uses Vanillite, I just imagine him/her buying an ice cream cone from Dairy Queen, yelling, “Vanillite! I choose you!” and throwing it at me. The terror.

divider_by_danotomorrow
1. Kelfki (#707)
A key-ring Pokémon. Geez, you guys; if we didn’t already think your fountain of creativity was running dry, this pretty much seals the deal. This steel/fairy-type Pokémon was released during Gen VI and, I quote, “it threatens any attackers by fiercely jingling its keys at them.”

It jingles its keys. How awful. I mean, really how do you prepare for that?

64c21dd925c6313b57a3335f9387f5de-d53r9nm

Well folks, that about wraps up my Top 10 Dumbest Pokémon list. I hope you agree, or at the very least, enjoyed the read! What are the most ridiculous Pokémon in your opinion? Comment and let me know; I’d love to hear what you think!

Be sure to check back for more Top 10 lists!


logo

One thought on “Top 10 Dumbest Pokemon

  1. Pingback: Pokemon: Spectrum | Miss Bloodstone Official

Leave a Reply

